From The World Wide Web: July 27th, 2012

I‘m still open to suggestions about the name for this series. I’ve been trying to fit in Green or Patriot or Business and I’m a bit stuck. I’d love to hear what you think. See (this) post, if you’re confused about what I just said.

I came across an article the other day in the McKinsey Quarterly that I think dovetails nicely with one of the required courses of the MBA program at George Mason. The course is, “MBA 678: Strategy and Organizational Leadership.” The article is called, “How Strategists Lead.” (Note: if you can’t view the whole article, it’s because you haven’t yet registered for the McKinsey Quarterly website, which, by the way, is absolutely free.)

How Strategists Lead — July 2012

Shifting the center of my teaching to executive education changed the way I teach and write about strategy. I’ve been struck by how often executives, even experienced ones, get tripped up: they become so interested in the potential of new ventures, for example, that they underestimate harsh competitive realities or overlook how interrelated strategy and execution are. I’ve also learned, in conversations between class sessions (as well as in my work as a board director and corporate adviser) about the limits of analysis, the importance of being ready to reinvent a business, and the ongoing responsibility of leading strategy.

Leave a Reply

